RSS Feed

I Made Pear Bread

Yummy, pear bread.

I finally started using that bag of pears I was telling y’all about. I was up early, so I started pealing and dicing them. I found several recipes for pear bread, but decided on one from the Taste of Home website.

The recipe called for the basics: flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, salt and nutmeg. I didn’t have nutmeg, but I did have pumpkin seasoning which is what I used. I cut a stick of cold butter (the real stuff) into the flour mixture. In a separate bowl, I combined eggs, buttermilk (milk with vinegar that had set for 5 mins.) and vanilla nut butter flavor.

I mixed my wet and dry ingredients together, but got a tad bit lazy. How? Well, the batter was stiff so I added more buttermilk instead of muscling it into a stiff dough. I then stirred in a the diced, fresh pears. The “bread” cooked for over an hour.

I pulled it out of the oven and ran a butter knife around the pan’s edges, waited 3 or 4 minutes and dumped it on a rack to cool. Dummy me. The bottom of the bread stuck inside the pan. Duh. It would have been perfect. The outside of the bread was golden and sweet. The inside was warm, moist and delicate. It was more like a cake than bread.

I think I’ll make a couple more loaves. Maybe one for a friend who is letting me borrow a computer and my sister who has MS and is not feeling too great.

Leave a Reply

