RSS Feed

My Spin Master House Party

Posted on

Last month I posted my great luck in being selected to host a Spin Master House Party. I’d never heard of the company Spin Master, but I recognized a few of its products. I’m sure you do, too. They make Hedbandz, Would You Rather, Battle of the Sexes and Beat the Parents.

Well, Saturday I invited a few friends and relatives over to play Logo and Quelf with me. Logo was an instant hit with everyone, old and young. To play Logo, you simply answer questions about a variety of brands. There are four different decks of cards, so don’t worry that you’ll memorize the answers any time soon.

The idea is to reach the center of the game first. Logo is fun, easy to understand and entertaining. The older people at my party (57+ crowd) loved it.

My personal favorite was Quelf. To have fun playing Quelf you need to set your pride and embarrassment aside. You will do silly things, but the game is only fun if players actually play the game and avoid taking penalties as much as possible. The younger kids became so self-conscious that they didn’t have as much fun as the adults.

We were shameless. My poor uncle had to get on his knees and sing me a love song for one minute. My mother had to make a “W” with her hand, place it on her forehead and say, “Whatever” every time someone said her name. Yep, I said her name so many times that she had to hate it. 🙂 My aunt had to give herself a wedgie. And me? Well, I had to write a sentence, no longer than 10 words, for the next person who rolled a 3 to read aloud five times. Guess who rolled a 3. Go ahead. I bet you’ll never figure it out. Give up? Dang, how’d you know it was me?  I had to read the sentence I wrote which said, “I love to lick stinky feet in the morning.” Karma is a you know what. lol

Want to check the games out? I have extra manufacturer coupons which give $5 off Logo and $5 off Quelf. I also have a few packs of secret decoders which can be used on the House Party.com website. Interested? Just comment before Oct. 25, 2011. I’ll randomly select five people to whom I’ll mail the coupons and decoders.

 

 

Leave a Reply

